Effect of Lunar gravity on individual human

At the end I was asked many questions. When discussing the Moon’s gravity, someone commented that the lunar gravity was so weak that it could have no effect on an individual human. I shook my head, and said “No, there is at least one historical event in which the force of gravity killed a man.” I paused long enough to notice Feynman looking at me very intently. I continued, “I’m referring, of course, to Blackbeard the pirate. His crew buried him up to his neck in the beach, and the Moon pulled in the tide and drowned him.”

Feynman roared with laughter. Afterwards he came up to me and congratulated me on my “sense of humor.” I’ll always cherish that.

Source

Leave a Reply

